God’s Answer

“Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart” (Psalm 37:4, AMP)

This was God’s immediate answer to the prayer I expressed in my last blog entry last June 2nd. Amidst my confusion and anxiety, His voice was truly comforting.

The verse reminded me of the real reason why I found myself in that same crossroad again. And what was that reason? I was too consumed with thinking about what I want to do and where I want to go. In short, it was selfishness that brought me to that crossroad. It’s not about me. It’s about Him who created me. The psalmist emphasized the best solution to my problem: to DELIGHT MYSELF IN THE LORD, to make Him my TOP PRIORITY. If I can do this one thing “with all my heart, with all my soul, and with all my strength (Deuteronomy 6:5), the LORD promises to grant me my heart’s desires and secret petitions… desires that He has impressed in my heart even before I was born.

″Are you believing God for something that seems like it’s taking a long time? In the natural, you may have every reason to give up on what God has placed in your heart. At times, you may be tempted to get discouraged, but remember, God knows exactly where you are. He knows the desires He’s placed within you. He knows even the hidden dreams — what the scripture calls the secret petitions of your heart. Those are the things that you haven’t told anyone about. Maybe you thought they would never work out, or you’ve buried them because they didn’t happen on your timetable. But God still has a way to bring them to pass.″

Beyond the confusion I felt when I was in that crossroad, I was afraid. Yes, it was fear that blocked my heart and mind from recognizing God’s promise. I was afraid to fail. I was afraid to take risks. I was afraid to go beyond my comfort zone. I was. And I still am.

I am a dreamer. I have a lot of dreams. Really. Some are outrageous. Some are so audacious. Some are very simple. I don’t exactly know at the moment which of them are part of God’s design for me but I am now more confident because I know the Lord will make things happen for me in His perfect time. All I have to do is to DELIGHT in HIM all the days of my life.

″Be encouraged today because God is working behind the scenes on your behalf. Delight yourself in Him — find joy in serving Him and make your heart moldable in His hands. Don’t settle for mediocrity because God knows what’s in you, and His plan is to finish the work He began in you!″

I can still feel a tinge of fear and anxiety in my heart. I guess I need to practice trusting and delighting in the Lord more every single day of my life. I need to move away from my self-centeredness and move closer to God. This plan might take time. But I know that “in all things, God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose (Romans 8:28)”.

Dear God, thank You for your goodness and unconditional love. Prepare me for the exciting things you have in store for me. Help me see and fulfill Your will in my life so that I may bring glory to Your name in everything I do. Amen.

(Note: Those in italics are taken from the email I received the morning of June 3 from Ate Allyn, my team mate. Thank you, Ate Allyn, for the timely devotions!)

Posted on June 5, 2011, in Introspections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know what you think.

