On Lost Friendships

If there’s one thing I regret doing last 2011, it would be not standing by a friend who needed me the most. I don’t believe there’s such a thing as a “bad friend” so I guess I won’t call myself that. It just saddens me to think that I wasted so much time over things that were not so important and didn’t make time for the people I care about the most. I pulled myself away from her because I was so consumed with a tampo. The worst part was that I never even really clarified things with her. I told myself that I’ll deal with it when I see her but I hardly tried to reach out. Even when I heard that she was going through difficult times, I still stood by my tampo. Yes, I know it was so childish! And I regret being such. A lot.

You see, I’ve never really been the “friendly” kind of person. I have always been an introvert. I prefer being alone most of the time. I have very few close friends — friends who really know me for who I really am. She is one of those. In fact, she was the bestest friend I’ve ever had. Kaya sobrang naiinis ako sa sarili ko dahil kung kailan kailangang kailangan niya ako, pinili kong lumayo. Hindi ko yata mapapatawad ang sarili ko sa ginawa ko.

Last Christmas, I resolved to make it up to her. Slowly, I  hope to find my way back into her life. I know I can never bring back the time lost. Sa kalahating taon na nawala siya sa buhay ko, buong buhay na niya ang nagbago. Sana mahabol ko pa ang nasayang na pagkakataon.

I saw her for the first time after 6 months last New Year. All I could do was hug her tight. We didn’t have time to talk about what happened but I’m glad I hugged her because I wanted so badly to make her feel that I loved her. I can still save our friendship. I know I can. Lord, help me!

Friends, when it comes to friendships, never ever let your pride get in the way. When misunderstandings arise, make sure to clarify things asap. Always value the friends who’ve been there with you and for you through thick and thin.

To my dearest friend, I hope you could find it in your heart to forgive me. I hope that there’s still a place for me in your new life.  I hope you will let me be your friend again. Okay lang kahit hindi muna kagaya nung dati. Basta sana hayaan mo akong tumayo sa likod mo — sa likod niyo ni baby.

A while ago, I heard this song playing on the radio and I remembered you. This song is for you.

And I never thought I’d feel this way
And as far as I’m concerned
I’m glad I got the chance to say
That I do believe I love you

And if I should ever go away
Well, then close your eyes and try to feel
The way we do today
And then if you can remember

Keep smilin’, keep shinin’
Knowin’ you can always count on me, for sure
That’s what friends are for
For good times and bad times
I’ll be on your side forever more
That’s what friends are for

Well, you came and opened me
And now there’s so much more I see
And so by the way I thank you

Whoa, and then for the times when we’re apart
Well, then close your eyes and know
These words are comin’ from my heart
And then if you can remember, oh

Keep smiling, keep shining
Knowing you can always count on me, for sure
That’s what friends are for
In good times, in bad times
I’ll be on your side forever more
Oh, that’s what friends are for

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Love & Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hi mae! i’m touched with this story and i can super relate. kasi i was once like you, inuna ang tampo at pride. ikaw nga 6 months lng, ako it took me 2 years to finally set aside my pride and make it up with “THEM”. hehe..3 kasi sila. and last year, di ko tlg hinyaan n matapos ang taon n hindi nkk-ask ng apology. i did and it feels great. and like u i only hope to be able to bring back the kind of closeness and friendship we had, but of course it’s gonna take time. but the important thing is i know i can do it, slowly perhaps pero ok lng. di naman talaga madali humabol sa mga nawala at nasayang na oras. and what’s more wonderful is, ngayun mkkpag serve na ulit ako – sa sfc.

    natuwa tlaga ako sa blog na ‘to kasi iv been thinking to write about my journey too pero i can’t find yet the inspiration.

    i wish us both good luck and next time we encounter the same road block again,sana mas alam na natin kung pano ihahandle. 🙂 cheers!~

  2. wow! thanks for sharing, mai. you should start a blog, too! anyway, let’s try to prioritize those that are most valuable to us this year – friendships, service, family. see you around. 😀

Let me know what you think.

