Learning Photography

I don’t own a DLSR (Yet. Still hoping someone could give me one for free!) and I only have a cheap Nikon point and shoot camera. I’m not fond of taking photos of myself. I’m also not comfortable having my photo taken since I’m not that photogenic. But I like taking photos. Sometimes, I get to borrow a friend’s or a relative’s or the office’s DLSR during trainings and events. Given the chance, I like to be the one behind the camera. My previous supervisor and some friends say I have an eye for photography so last year, when an office mate invited me to attend a Basic Digital Photography Workshop, I said yes. Luckily, since the workshop was work-related, I got to borrow a Nikon D90 from the office.

During the 3-day workshop at APNTS, I learned about the importance of knowing your camera. Having a camera, most especially if it is a DSLR, without knowing its features is just pointless. We also studied about composition, ISO, exposure, aperture, focus, white balance, shutter and all the basic things you need to know about digital photography. The best part of the workshop was when we went out and took photos using the different camera settings we learned. At first, I didn’t know what to take photos of. But I tried anyway. I took photos of just about anything I came across with. Soon, I found out that I could actually turn ordinary sights into beautiful images! It was a fun and amazing experience. And it inspired me even more to continue honing my skills in photography.

Here are some of my practice shots taken at APNTS grounds and at Antipolo Church.

I know, I still have a lot to learn. For now, I’ll continue to take as many photos as I can. I guess it doesn’t really matter if I use a DLSR, a point and shoot camera, or my mobile phone’s camera. Alright, it matters in terms of settings and all but ultimately, I think the essence of photography is when the story behind the photo is captured and conveyed to the viewer. There are times I’d cry just looking at a photo, as if I was there when it was taken. That’s the kind of photograph that I want to make. Eventually…

My dream photography projects:

1. Nature

2. Rainbows

3. Weddings

4. Babies

5. Old couples

For those like me who want to venture into photography, here are some tips I found really helpful:

1. Know your camera (don’t forget to read your camera’s manual )

2. Experiment

3. Don’t just take photos, make photos (copied from Kodak)

4. Take shots from different angles (get low or climb a tree if you must)

5. Watch the light  (using the flash isn’t always good)

6. Compose and frame your subject well

7.  Practice. Practice. Practice.

Interested in photography? You might find these sites interesting:

http://www.dpreview.com

http://www.photographysites.com/

http://www.kodak.com

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Etcetera, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for this Ate Mae! We’ll be venturing in Photography this summer. I will be making my dream travel portfolio! ❤

  2. love the photos 🙂 parang pro….someday I’ll learn to take good pictures too 🙂

  3. hmm… parang natamaan ako dun sa “having a camera, most especially if it is a DSLR, without knowing it’s features is just pointless. ” hahaha!!

    Anyway, don’t worry you will get your camera soon! There’s a lot of good DSLR out there in a fraction of a cost… Nikon D3000 or Nikon D3100… is good for newbies, almost pro-like and it’s cheaper than other cameras too… hope you can get one soon! I’ll be looking forward to see your photos!

    • Hahaha! It was what the lecturer pointed out. Which I think makes sense naman. 🙂
      Thanks for the advice on the cameras. Hopefully, this year I’ll be able to get my own camera (fingers crossed). Excited na ako!

Let me know what you think.

