Appreciating the Blessing of Family

I was used to living a simple and comfortable life. As an only child, I didn’t have big problems to worry about. Everything I needed was taken cared of by my parents. I only had to do what they expected me to do- excel in school, be a good Christian, obey their rules. For sixteen years, I lived an easy life. But during those years, I rarely appreciated the easiness of my life. I felt constricted. I felt contained. The rebel in me wanted to break free. It finally succeeded when I had to go away for college. I was happy to get out of my comfort zone. I was excited to try new things. And I forgot about home too quickly. At first, I did enjoy the thrills of independence. But when I got sick or felt sad, I realized how blessed I was before when my parents were there to take care of me. After a while, I realized life was empty when you’re alone.

From that moment on, I started to cherish each moment I had with my loved ones. Life is short and can be taken away in an instant. Enjoy every moment you have with your loved ones. And never ever miss a chance to let them know how much they mean to you.

Mom, dad and me at SM North

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Love & Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can relate sooo much! This is so true!! I have experienced this because my family is away from me…and now I’m missing them so much (than I ever had before) since I’m recovering from chicken pox and no one has to take care of me, I always think of how good life is when your family is there for you…. I love my family and I know how important they are to me.. They are the only people who are always ready to comfort you and always be there for you… The only people you can trust your life with… I just miss them 😦

  2. I wrote this post cause I also miss my mom & dad. 😦 Yes, I agree life is so good when you’re with family. Kahit sometimes hindi nagkakaintindihan, keri lang basta we love each other.

Let me know what you think.

